The title of this week’s sermon is “I’m Better Under Pressure” (as you can probably already guess from the picture). This sermon is from Pastor Steven Furtick at Elevation Church
To watch a preview, click on the video below. You can watch the full sermon by clicking here.
Steven is one of my favorite pastors. I first heard him speak at the Global Leadership Summit in 2011 and read his book Sun Stand Still. He has recently released a new book called Crash the Chatterbox: Hearing God’s Voice Above All Others. In this sermon, he talks about how to deal with pressure and how to overcome negative thoughts & discouragement. 
I’ve written some of my notes below. Watch and comment. Happy Saturday!

How to Preach to Yourself (when things are going to hell in a handbasket) 
1. I’VE BEEN HERE BEFORE- remember other times you overcame through Christ
2 Corinthians 1:8- “For we do not want you to be ignorant, brothers, of the affliction we experienced in Asia. For we were so utterly burdened beyond our strength that we despaired of life itself.”

far beyond my ability to endure
Sometimes God puts us in situations that we can’t endure to bring us closer to Him.
definition of despair- total inability to find an exit from an oppressive circumstance
You may be in a difficult circumstance, but you have the same Savior.
2. I’M NOT THAT IMPORTANT- the world will go on without you (or if you fail)
2 Corinthians 1:9- “Indeed, we felt that we had received the sentence of death. But that was to make us rely not on ourselves but on God who raises the dead.”

maybe it happened so I HAVE to rely on God
So much of the pressure you feel is not caused by your situation but by your perception of the situation.
3. I’M BETTER UNDER PRESSURE- pressure produces faith & fruit
Pressure creates power.
Some things can only be produced under pressure.
David wasn’t delivered FROM the lion’s den but INSIDE
Genesis 50:20- “As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good, to bring it about that many people should be kept alive, as they are today.”
definition of Gethsemane = olive press
When Jesus was praying in Gethsemane, he was under pressure. The pressure may be intense, but it will produce something. 
The world teaches you how to cope, only God converts.
My personal thoughts: This was one of the most uplifting and encouraging sermons I’ve heard, especially in a time of my life when I am faced with a major disappointment. I know what it’s like to feel like a failure and to be under circumstances of extreme pressure. I agreed with Steven when he talked about pressure forcing us to rely on God, and in a way, it almost makes me grateful for times of weakness and struggle. I was also encouraged hearing that pressure has a purpose- to make us more like Christ who was under pressure Himself. If nothing else in this sermon speaks to your heart, be encouraged that your Savior knows exactly what pressure feels like and can relate to you in your fears and struggles. 
Have a blessed weekend!
