lage

I hate the words creative outlet.

I know people who are education majors, engineering majors, business majors, sometimes even English majors (like me!), who are doing artistic activities because it is their creative outlet.

That is what I used to think when I drew my cupcake friends, painted pretty pictures, or even started blogging.

This is my creativity time, the stuff I can’t really do for my major or my job. It was like a subcategory under the more important things that really mattered. 

But why do people insist on giving themselves an excuse to be creative? Why can’t we be creative in all aspects of our life, with everything we do? 

I write research papers for a living. Okay, not for actual money, but it is the main source of the grades I earn. Yes, it can be boring and tedious sometimes, but most of the time, it’s actually kind of fun because it requires creativity to construct an argument based on my research and the text I’m analyzing. It takes creativity to piece together ideas from other scholars and to evaluate them in light of my own perspective.

I’ve learned creativity is not limited to people who wear those slouchy knitted hats and know how to use fancy programs like Adobe Illustrator.

Creativity is one of the essential parts of what makes us human, no matter what major or career.

In fact, creativity is the first thing we learn about God from Scripture.

“In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth . . .”  Genesis 1:1

Since humans are made in God’s image, we are also creative and allowing our creativity to overflow from our hearts and into every part of our ordinary lives is a deeply beautiful expression of worship.

Not only is creativity one of God’s attributes, but it is proof for God’s existence. Since humans have the capacity to create, we are forced to consider where that part of us originally comes from.

If God is not a God who creates, how can humans create? Where do our imaginations come from?

God obviously values creativity. God gave people the freedom to express their creativity in their writing of His Holy Scriptures, and He even appointed certain people to design and build His tabernacle. God gave specific instructions and talents, through His Spirit, so that people could create.

“Then the Lord said to Moses, ‘See, I have chosen Bezalel son of Uri, the son of Hur, of the tribe of Judah, and I have filled him with the Spirit of God, with wisdom, with understanding, with knowledge and with all kinds of skills-to make artistic designs for work in gold, silver and bronze, to cut and set stones, to work in wood, and to engage in all kinds of crafts.”  Exodus 31:1-5

3705090563ead89ab1755da3966f623b

All of this is leading up to an idea I’ve been considering for some time-

Maybe creating is one of the most awesome forms of worship. It points to God, and the reality that everything created originally comes from Him and His creativity. It allows us to enter into deeper community with Him by doing something He loves to do, and it enables others, who may not know God, to see a part of Him. Even writing this blog post has been an enjoyable form of worship. I shared my ideas with you as God loves to share His thoughts with us.

b9b2a13494d9e9447821c25702cbfae3

So why choose to unleash a specially designed (and designing) part of yourself in a creative outlet?

Why reserve your God-given creativity and artistry for activities involving only paint, canvases, and pens?

Creatively live out your part in the picture God is painting, in the story He is writing, and in the song He sings over us.

