In exactly 83 days, I will be moving to Walt Disney World Resort to begin the Disney College Program.

When I was 13 years old, I saw an advertisement for the DCP on a bulletin board in my dance studio. I looked it up as soon as I got home and began hoping that someday I could work at the happiest place on earth. 

Fast forward 8 years, and I’m beginning to make travel plans and detailed bucket lists, bond with my roommates, check the DCP Facebook pages, watch the DCP vlogs, and basically do what Rapunzel is doing every time I remember that I was accepted. I’M GOING TO DISNEYWORLD.

The Disney College Program is a paid internship at either Walt Disney World Resort in Orlando, Florida or Disneyland in California. Students may participate by either taking a semester off college or by choosing to go the semester after graduation. The basic rule is that you must be enrolled in college at the time you apply.

Jobs range from Quick Service Food & Beverage (QSFB) to Merchandise to Character Performer to Hotel Concierge. The program also offers classes such as Disney Heritage, Guest Services, Leadership, and Hospitality Management. Oh, and when you’re not working, you can play in the parks for FREE. 

pascal

Because I’m graduating early (by a year and a half) and my college experience turned out to be different than what I expected, I had no idea what I wanted to do after graduation. I considered grad school, which is the expectation for English majors, but decided it wasn’t right for me. As I was struggling (okay, more like panicking) and praying about what to do, I was reminded of the DCP and the rule that students may participate the semester after graduation. It was the perfect solution because I wanted a break from academia, time to think about/re-evaluate my career and life goals, and of course, to work for the company that brought me so much hope, joy, and magic as a child and continues to this day. 

As a Fortune 500 company and named by LinkedIn as “one of the World’s Most InDemand Employers of 2014”, Disney will look fantastic on my resume and will give me opportunities to pursue their professional internships and other career opportunities. I had never really considered a career in Communications, Human Resources, or Management until I looked at the roles offered by Disney, and I cannot wait to explore these possibilities during my program. 

Stay tuned for freshly baked updates on my Disney adventure by following The Cupcake Caravan with WordPress, Bloglovin, or by email. 

Have a magical day!

Is. 41:10

IMG_4745

