gold confetti

I can’t believe 2015 is already here. HOW!?

So much happened in 2014, which is why I’m taking this post to slow down and remember a few of my favorite things, as well as some truths God taught me through sermons, friends, books, and personal Bible studies. In writing this post, I honestly enjoyed going through my prayer journal and remembering all of the sweet insights I received from God. If you’re still looking for a New Year’s resolution, I recommend keeping a prayer journal- at least for a way to go back and reflect on how God worked in your life. Also, I think I may be doing the thing where you pick a word for the year. Yes, I know I’m way behind schedule since I’m just now considering it. But I’ve been seeing so much hype, and I think God has given me a word for 2015. I will keep you updated on any developments.

jan
-Got my wisdom teeth out
-Watched Sherlock Season 3 (more times than I’m comfortable admitting to)

Spiritual truths learned-

Because Jesus is strong for me, I am free to be weak.

Jesus came to relieve me of the burden I feel to WIN.

I cannot base my relationship with God on how I perceive He feels about me because this will sometimes be flawed.

I have a chance every day to move the heart of God. I have the ability to make God feel loved through worship.

feb

-My sister displayed her brilliance by competing at the national level in an engineering competition. She came in third!!! I am very, VERY proud of her.

image (7) SONY DSC

-I saw my favorite worship band- Rend Collective Experiment- LIVE in concert!

Spiritual truths learned-

The enemy is not the circumstance but the misconception that the circumstance is there because God doesn’t care about me.

Sometimes, God allows unfortunate circumstances to protect me from making them into idols.

mar

-I wrote a Shakespeare paper over Spring Break. I think that sums up this month.

Spiritual truths learned-

My imperfection and weakness does not determine God’s love for me.

Seriousness is not a fruit of the Spirit, but joy is.

april

-I presented my academic research on Hans Christian Andersen’s The Red Shoes at the National Conference on Undergraduate Research at the University of Kentucky.

That Time I Presented at a National Conference

IMG_4051

-As the director of my university’s dance ministry, I had the privilege of directing and performing in a dance concert to raise funds for the local pregnancy resource center. Our group performed numbers like Hillsong’s “Oceans” and Rend Collective’s “Build Your Kingdom Here,” as well as the Lifehouse “Everything” skit. My parents, sisters, and grandmother also drove up to see it. The whole experience is so special to me and something I never want to forget. God taught me so much and blessed me with wonderful friendships.

That Time I Led a Campus Ministry

That Time I Led a Campus Ministry

That Time I Led a Campus Ministry

Spiritual truths learned-

“Praise be to the Lord, for He has heard my cry for mercy. The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in Him, and I am helped.” Psalm 28:6

“I lift up my eyes to the hills- Where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth. He will not let your foot slip- He who watches over you will not slumber; indeed, He who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep. The Lord watches over you- the Lord is your shade at your right hand; the sun will not harm you by night. The Lord will keep you from all harm- He will watch over your life; the Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.” Psalm 121

“Those who sow in tears will reap with songs of joy. He who goes out weeping, carrying seed to sow, will return with songs of joy, carrying sheaves with him. Psalm 126:5-6

may

-I started running (okay, more like jogging) around my neighborhood.
-I also started this blog.

Spiritual truths learned-

Whenever the Spirit breathes life into you, you become a life giver.

There is still darkness. Light does not make darkness disappear, but it is stronger.

jun-august

-WORK. WORK. WORK.
-SCHOOL.
-WORK.
-SCHOOL.
-And I applied for the Disney College Program.

Spiritual truths learned-

The Gospel is the absence of all condemnation and the fullness of God’s delight lavished on us in Christ.

Jesus is not a symptom fixer. He is the Healer.

Because of what Christ did, my failures cannot hurt me anymore.

Freedom in Christ is not having to define myself or my success by this world’s standards.

Putting on the shield of faith is a command, not a suggestion. Therefore, it is not a facade or crutch to make me feel better but a valid source of spiritual protection.

God’s grace when I am imperfect is better than my perfection could ever be.

sep

-The best news of my life- I was accepted into the Disney College Program Spring Advantage 2015 Quick Service Food & Beverage!!!!

IMG_4745

-I also started my last semester of college.

Spiritual truths learned-

Discipline is removing what is not essential to become the person you were meant to be.

Hope is not weakness. It is a source of strength. “Those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles, they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:31

oct

– I dressed up as Snow White for Homecoming Spirit Week.

-I dressed up as a gingerbread girl for Halloween.

10518993_10204923186741865_8876048452599029233_n

10733569_10205173828087688_1812803607_n

Spiritual truths learned-

Just because I don’t see the effects of sanctification or healing doesn’t mean God thinks less of me or that I’m unqualified to serve Him.

nov

-I turned 21.

10624765_10152495180867963_713993063960240475_n

Spiritual truths learned-

I don’t need to fix myself to be acceptable to God.

Walking on water doesn’t mean the storm calms down. It just means I’m not struggling to swim through the chaos of ideas overwhelming my mind and heart. The chaos is still there, but instead of trying to understand every part of it, I’m walking towards Jesus.

dec

-I graduated with my Bachelor’s degree in English.

IMG_1626

-And say goodbye to my best friends. And my university. And papers, homework, outrageous requirements, constantly modified syllabuses, ridiculous RAs, and disgusting caf food. But also, professors who changed my life, friends I spent hours with every weekend, a fantastic roommate, and memories I will always treasure. Can you tell I’m just a little bit conflicted right now!? Graduating in 2.5 years is the most thrilling, stressful, incredible, and saddest thing ever. It is so surreal.

-Also, Christmas happened.

IMG_0009

Scroll

I would say it’s been a pretty sweet year, don’t you think? I am looking forward to the treats God has in store for me in 2015.

Please comment below with highlights from your year, New Year’s resolutions, or words you’ve chosen to focus on during the new year.

Have a fantastic weekend!

Is. 41:10

