silver-glitter-desktop-backgrounds

I know I’ve only had this blog since June, but I’ve learned some important lessons about blogging along the way. In this post, I will share my top five. Also, I would LOVE it if you would comment with your own blogging advice. I work hard on growing The Cupcake Caravan in any way I can.

1. It doesn’t have to be perfect. Just publish something.

If I worked on my posts until they were perfect, there would be nothing for you to read. There is always a way to improve, and blogging has taught me that getting posts published is better than dragging out revisions.

2. Consistency pays off.

In September, I spent every single afternoon working on my blog (even though my laptop broke, and I had to use the study room computers in my dorm). My dedication improved my writing abilities, and I found it eventually took less time to publish.

3. If you aren’t sure what your blog is about, try out a variety of posts.

When I first started The Cupcake Caravan, I envisioned a blog written by a homeschool grad with perspectives on homeschool topics. I also wrote a lot about my sister’s pets. Now, The Cupcake Caravan is a mixture of spiritual reflections, book reviews, and Pinterest. I’m still exploring the possibilities to find out what I enjoy writing about most and what readers find informative and inspiring.

4. Collect your ideas.

I’m constantly thinking of new ideas for blog posts, and if I didn’t write them down, I would definitely forget! To keep track, I start and save a draft for every post idea I have. I also keep a list of blog post ideas, outlines, affiliate info, and things I need to do for the blog in a notebook I always carry with me.

5. Write what you want.

For the first few months, I wrote what I thought readers would be most likely to read and enjoy. It wasn’t fun, and it certainly wasn’t easier. Once I re-evaluated the direction I wanted to take The Cupcake Caravan, I realized I needed to write what was most interesting and inspiring to me because, when my heart is in the content, it just comes out better. Don’t let misconceptions of who your audience is or fears of what they will think hold you back from creating content that is unique to who you are and filled with your voice.

