20fbd11dccb2f11510f39c15cd19c4b9

As you may already know from this post, I chose the word celebrate to focus on for 2015. I decided to study my selected passage, Psalm 145, to find out why I should celebrate, and the answer I came up with is

I celebrate because of WHO GOD IS.

Psalm 145:14-20

The Lord upholds all who are falling and raises up all who are bowed down.

The eyes of all look to you and you give them their food in due season.

You open your hand; you satisfy the desire of every living thing.

The Lord is righteous in all his ways and kind in all his works.

The Lord is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.

He fulfills the desire of those who fear him; he also hears their cry and saves them.

The Lord preserves all who love him, but all the wicked he will destroy.

Now, I’m going to walk you through my personal Bible study just to show some interesting things I learned about God and to inspire you to spend time with God.

Before I got my journaling Bible, I started examining this passage in my Reformation Study Bible. I used my own colors and symbols to help me better remember and understand what I was reading. It really helps me, and if you haven’t tried it before, I recommend it, especially if you are looking for something different to change things up.

unnamed

I wrote out these verses in my journal and realized a few interesting points.

First of all, in verse 14, the verbs upholds and raises are present tense, meaning that God is continually lifting those who fall. No matter how many times I fall, He is always going to raise me up. Praise Him.

Then, in verse 15, I noticed that looking to God precedes receiving what is needed. That isn’t to say that God doesn’t always provide, but maybe, in order to recognize God’s provision, I need to look to Him in acknowledgement of where provision comes from in the first place.

Lastly, my favorite insight comes from verses 16 and 19. I noticed the noun desire is singular. I thought this was interesting because people have multiple desires. So I was thinking about why only one desire is mentioned (when God clearly fulfils more than one), and I realized it’s because humanity’s one, true, and universal desire is for God and for the kind of satisfaction only He can provide.

why

The code for my symbols, used above:

symbolsThe symbols are partially inspired by Precepts Bible studies, but I just came up with my own because sometimes, the Precepts symbols don’t make much sense to me.

So that’s it! In my next post on my word for 2015, I will cover how to celebrate, as presented in Psalm 145.

Have a blessed week and comments are welcome.

Is. 41:10

